The Cabinet today at the meeting chaired by the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi gave its approval to the following:

(i) To implement the Scheme for Revival of 23 unlicensed District Central Cooperative Banks (DCCBs) in four States.  These are 16 in Uttar Pradesh, three in Jammu & Kashmir, three in Maharashtra and one in West Bengal. Under the Scheme, the total capital infusion required for revival of these 23 DCCBs would be Rs. 2375.42 crore, out of which the commitment from the Central Government would be Rs. 673.29 crore, from State Governments Rs. 1464.59 crore and from NABARD Rs.237.54 crore.

(ii) The Gol's share of Rs.673.29 crore would be released through NABARD as interest-free loan and would be converted into grant on fulfilment of conditionalities/deliverables outlined in the Scheme which, among other things includes bringing the NPAs to at least half of the current levels by 31.3.2017; making 15 percent growth rate of deposits for next two years; drawing up of a monthly Monitorable Action Plan; placement of competent CEOs fulfilling 'Fit & Proper' criteria; and putting Corporate Governance Systems in place. The assistance from NABARD would be in the form of loan to the respective State Governments under Section 27 of NABARD Act, 1981.

The Scheme for revival of these unlicensed DCCBs will help in revival of these cooperative banks.   This will result in protecting the interests of depositors and catering to the credit needs of farmers. Once revived, these cooperative banks would become eligible for obtaining licenses from RBI for continuing their operations in rural areas and would also be able to achieve CRAR requirement prescribed by RBI.   This means 7 percent CRAR by 31st March, 2015 and 9 percent CRAR by 31st March, 2017.

For the purpose of implementation of the Scheme, a tripartite agreement in the form of Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), stipulating conditionalities and deliverables, will be signed between the Central Government, concerned State Government and NABARD. During the implementation of the Scheme, operations of these 23 unlicensed DCCBs would be closely monitored by NABARD and RBI, so that they meet the licensing requirement within the time frame as prescribed in the Scheme.

The list of the places where the DCCBs are located is given below:

Uttar Pradesh:

  1. Deoria
  2. Bahraich
  3. Siddharth Nagar
  4. Sultanpur
  5. Jaunpur
  6. Hardoi
  7. Basti
  8. Ballia,
  9. Azamgarh
  10. Gorakhpur
  11. Fatehpur
  12. Sitapur
  13. Varanasi
  14. Allahabad,
  15. Ghazipur and
  16. Faizabad


  1. Buldhana
  2. Nagpur
  3. Wardha

Jammu & Kashmir:

  1. Baramullah
  2. Anantnag
  3. Jammu

West Bengal:

  1. Birbhum

Modi Govt's #7YearsOfSeva
Explore More
It is now time to leave the 'Chalta Hai' attitude & think of 'Badal Sakta Hai': PM Modi

Popular Speeches

It is now time to leave the 'Chalta Hai' attitude & think of 'Badal Sakta Hai': PM Modi
PM Modi highlights M-Yoga app in International Yoga Day address. Here's all you need to know

Media Coverage

PM Modi highlights M-Yoga app in International Yoga Day address. Here's all you need to know

Nm on the go

Always be the first to hear from the PM. Get the App Now!
We must make efforts to ensure reach of yoga in every corner of the world: PM Modi
June 21, 2021

The Prime Minster, Shri Narendra Modi has called upon yoga acharyas, and yoga pracharaks and everyone connected with yoga work to ensure that yoga reaches every corner of the world. He was speaking on the occasion of Seventh International Yoga Day.

Quoting from Gita, The Prime Minister said we need to continue moving on the collective journey of yoga as yoga has solution for everyone. Freedom from sufferings is yoga and it helps everyone, said the Prime Minster.

Noting the growing popularity and people’s interest in yoga the Prime Minister said, it is important that yoga reaches to every person while keeping intact its foundation and core. Yoga acharyas and all of us should contribute in this task of taking yoga to everyone, said the Prime Minister.