Portfolios allotted to new ministers

Published By : Admin | August 21, 2010 | 11:58 IST

Gujarat Governor Dr Shrimati Kamlaji administered the oath of office and secrecy to four Ministers of State at a simple and solemn ceremony at Raj Bhawan here today.

The four newly sworn-in Ministers of State are Shri Kanubhai Mepabhai Bhalala from Visavadar Assembly constituency, Smt Vasuben Narendrabhai Trivedi from Jamnagar, Shri Pradipsinh Bhagwantsinh Jadeja from Asarwa and Shri Prafulbhai Khodbhai Patel from Himatnagar.

The ceremony was attended by Chief Minister Shri Narendra Modi, his Cabinet colleagues, Members of Parliament and Legislative Assembly, senior Secretaries and other officers, leaders from various cross-sections of the society well-wishers and party workers.

The oath-taking ceremony was conducted by Chief Secretary Shri A.K. Joti.

The Chief Minister later allocated the portfolios to the newly inducted ministers and recommended their names to the Governor.  They are:

Minister Portfolio

Shri Kanubhai Bhalala: Agriculture, Water Resources (excluding Kalpsar)

Shri Vasuben Trivedi: Higher & Technical Education, Women & Child Development

Shri Pradipsinh Jadeja: Law and Judiciary, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

Shri Praful Patel: Police Housing, Border Security, Civil Defence, Home Guards, Gram Rakshak Dal, Jail, Prohibition, Excise and Home

The Chief Minister also recommended to the Governor a change in portfolio of Minister of State Shri Parbatbhai Patel and allot to him Water Supply, Co-operation, Health and Family Welfare.


Shri Pradipsinh Bhagawatsinh Jadeja

72- Asarwa Constituency (Ahmedabad)

Representing Asarwa constituency of Ahmedabad city, Shri Pradipsinh Bhagawatsinh Jadeja has served 11th legislative assembly of Gujarat during 2002 to 2007. He served as Chief Whip in 12th assembly of Gujarat and also worked as a Chairman of the Assembly Public Undertaking Committee. He served as a Chairman of Gaun Seva Pasandagi Samiti for five years and contributed significantly as a Chairman of Gujarat Narmdavalley Fertilizers Company.

He remained a member of the BJP Yuva Morcha National Executive Committee, In-Charge of BJP Yuva Morcha, Gujarat Unit. He assumed various roles in BJP, from Ward President of youth wing to State President, during 1980 to 2002.

At present he is serving as a member of BJP Gujarat Executive Committee and also as a Chairman of Rajput-Kshtriya Vidhyasabha, Gujarat.

As a Corporater of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation, during 1995 to 2000, he acted as a Chairman of Health Committee and Hospital Committee. He has also remained as a syndicate member of Gujarat University and served as a Chairman of Afro Asian Games Organization Committee.

Born on 11th June 1962, Shri Pradipsinh Jadeja is a chemistry graduate. Having a liking for sports, especially cricket, Shri Pradipsinh Jadeja has also visited America and European countries.

Smt.Vasuben Narendrabhai Trivedi

25-Jamnagar Constituency (Jamnagar District)

Prof. Smt. Vasuben Narendrabhai Trivedi was born on 1st February, 1950 at Vejpur village of Savali taluka in Vadodara district. She did her MA., L.L.B and begun career as a professor.

Her parliamentary career had begun with 11th Legislative Assembly of Gujarat, during 2002-2007. She acted as a Chairman of Budgetary Committee of Gujarat Assembly and a Chairman of Public Undertaking Committee. She has also served significantly as a Chairman of Gujarat Tourism Corporation.

Presently Smt. Vasuben Trivedi is serving as an executive member of State BJP and Vice Chairman of BJP Mahila Morcha of National Executive Committee.

Smt.Vasuben's contribution in the field of higher education is also notable. At present, she is serving as Principal and Head of the Department in A.K.Doshi girl's college. She has served as academic member of Saurashtra University, Senate member of Saurashtra University. She has also acted as a Dean of Home Science faculty, Coordinator of Indira Gandhi National Open University, member of Academic Council of Bhavanagar University, Chairman of Gujarat State Text Book Board and Senate and Syndicate member of Ayurved University.

Her likings include reading, writing, touring and interior decoration. She has made foreign tours to UK, Canada and America.

Shri Kanubhai Mepabhai Bhalala

40-Visavadar Constituency (Junagadh)

Shri Kanubhai Mepabhai Bhalala has remained a member of 11th Legislative Assembly of Gujarat during 2002 to 2007.

He served as a President of Visavadar unit of Indian Farmer's Association from 1986 and acted as President of Junagadh district unit for nine years. He is serving as a BJP President of Visavadar taluka since 1998.

Shri Kanubhai Bhalala is a founding chairman of Shri Dindayal Credit Cooperative Society and at present serving as a President of the organization. He is representing Visavadar constituency in Junagadh district, an earlier constituency of Ex.Chief Minister Shri Keshubhai Patel.

Always being considered for the issues of farmers, Shri Kanubhai Mepabhai Bhalala, has actively participated in many movements pertaining to the issues of farmers and also suffered incarceration.

Associated with agriculture Shri Bhalala is fond of reading, youth activities and modern farming.

Shri Prafulbhai Khodbhai Patel

106, Himmatnagar Constituency (Sabarkantha District)

Shri Prafulbhai Khodbhai Patel was born on 28th August, 1957 at Unava. He studied Diploma in Civil Engineering and begun his career in construction field.

He actively contributed in social services through the organizations like Rotary club, Redcross society and others. He has been elected as MLA from Himmatnagar, for the 12th legislative assembly of Gujarat. He is serving as BJP President for Sabarkantha district from the year 2009.

Touring, reading, mountaineering, rescue operation during natural calamities, traveling untaken and risky roads are some of his loving activities

Explore More
No ifs and buts in anybody's mind about India’s capabilities: PM Modi on 77th Independence Day at Red Fort

Popular Speeches

No ifs and buts in anybody's mind about India’s capabilities: PM Modi on 77th Independence Day at Red Fort
Unveiling India’s market magnetism: Why international brands flock to expand amidst rising opportunities

Media Coverage

Unveiling India’s market magnetism: Why international brands flock to expand amidst rising opportunities
NM on the go

Nm on the go

Always be the first to hear from the PM. Get the App Now!
Social Media Corner 16th June 2024
June 16, 2024

PM Modi becomes synonymous with Viksit Bharat at home and abroad